The May meeting of the Blue Mountains City Council had a temporary change to its leadership with the appointment of Youth Councillor Maisy Costa to serve as Assistant Mayor and co-chair of the meeting.

Mayor, Cr Mark Greenhill, assisted the 13-year-old Blue Mountains Youth Councillor in her role at the helm of the City for a period of a few hours.

Maisy is a new, incoming Youth Councillor. A Hazelbrook resident and student at Springwood High School, Maisy joined the Youth Council to become a voice for younger people in society and help promote safe places for young people to meet in the Blue Mountains. She is an active member of her school’s Student Representative Council, plus participates in sports and her church community.

During the Council meeting, Maisy had the chance to address the Councillors on a couple of meeting items expressing a valuable young person’s perspective on local issues.

The opportunity to act in the role of Assistant Mayor and co-chair of the meeting is available to Youth Councillors once a year. Maisy was selected for the role by random ballot at the previous Youth Council meeting.

Councillors unanimously resolved to endorse the membership of the 2016 Blue Mountains Youth Council thank the outgoing Youth Council members for their contribution to our community and welcome the 10 continuing and 15 new members of the Youth Council.

Mayor, Cr Mark Greenhill, said, “The Blue Mountains Youth Council provides a strong voice for young people to the Council and community. These young people are inspiring advocates for the youth of the Blue Mountains.”

The meeting also heard a report on the activities of Blue Mountains Youth Council presented by returning Youth Councillor Benjamin McGrory. Benjamin thanked the Council for the leadership opportunity and stated his commitment to helping young people with mental health challenges.

2016 Blue Mountains Youth Council membership: Joey Jones-Romeo, Benjamin McGrory, Ruby Moria, Brodie Wylde, Lemuel Appel, Aleksandrs (Sasha) Titovs, Grace Faulder, Kiralee Roscoe-Bynon, Zoe Mikulandra, Paul Mukhin, Eden Conway, Maisy Costa, Andrew Gunn, Meg Hill, Rowan Holdaway, Sophie Jansons, Samara McCabe, Lily Mikulandra, Leah Roscoe-Bynon, Chloe Saunders, Delilah Scott, Jasmine Scott-Smith, Jordan Taylor-Colless, Jasper Tobin and Caspar Zauner.

To follow the activities of the Blue Mountains Youth Council and see videos of the Youth Councillors in action at the Council meeting, visit Facebook

Photo caption: Blue Mountains Mayor, Cr Mark Greenhill, with Blue Mountains Youth Councillor, Maisy Costa, who was Assistant Mayor and co-chair at Council’s May 2016 meeting.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link
<span class="translation_missing" title="translation missing:">Load Comment Text</span>